2009 Movies that I Have Seen

Okay, I have to say this year so far has been one of the best years for a movie buff like myself. Here’s the movies that I have seen in theatres so far this year:

 watchmen_poster16

 Watchmen: Being a fan of the grapic graphic novel, I was pleased that finally this movie was made.  It was everything that I hoped it would be.  My only complaint was that the movie was a tad bit too long, but that is only a minor quibble.  I was impressed with the cast, the special effects, and the cinematograpy.  Just a few short weeks until this movie comes out on DVD  and Blu-Ray, and hopefully I will have many repeat viewings of this film.

 x_men_origins_wolverine_movie_poster6

 X-Men Origins: Wolverine:  Finally, X-Men’s resident badass gets his own movie and it is incredible!  I have to say I was impressed on how this movie used parts of the Origin comic book from 2001.  Before this comic mini-series came out, readers that followed the character in both his own book and the X-Men comics were only given snippets of Wolverine’s past, but after Origin came out, the readers were given an extensive story about how Wolverine became the badass he is.  This story translated very well to the big screen.

 

startrek

 Star Trek: Though many consider this the eleventh film in the series, others like myself consider it to be the first in a new film series.  This movie does for Star Trek what Batman Begins did for Batman, it revitializes the property.  Don’t get me wrong, I love some of the old episodes of the original Star Trek tv show, but I think the reason why movies like Star Trek: Insurrection and Star Trek: Nemesis did poorly was because they were too convoluted.  The best thing about the new Star Trek Film was that you did not have to be a long-time fan to follow the film.

Those are the movies I have seen so far.  I know it’s a very short list but I am picky about what movies I go pay to see.  This is also apparent from the movies I still want to see, in which I will talk about in my next post.

Leave a Reply

