The Twilight "Phenomenon"

Eclipse

As most of you are aware, the latest chapter in the Twilight movie saga, Eclipse, opens tonight at midnight.  When this “phenomenon” started, I could care less about it because I thought it was specifically geared towards teenage girls.  Then a month ago, my sister-in-law sent me the first two books, Twilight and New Moon, so I decided to forgo my prejudices and read Stephanie Myer’s vampire saga. 

After reading five chapters of Twilight, I realize that so far my original opinions were correct: this whole Twilight mess is for teenage girls.  Even though that is not necessarily a bad thing, I have mixed thoughts on what I have read so far.  I want to try to sympathize with Bella, the heroine of the Twilight saga, but to me, she comes off as a whiny, depressive teenage girl.  Bella whines about moving to Forks, Washington and she even whines when things are going good in her life. 

I love the whole vampire culture, but I think that Anne Rice and Joss Whedon done a better job defining the vampire fiction genre better than Stephanie Myers has.  I don’t know maybe it’s my generation but I think the best vampire/human relationship was Buffy and Angel on Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  Now there was a story that had depth to it.  Buffy was chosen to kill all the vampires and she ends up falling in love with a vampire with a tortured soul.  At least you understood why there was such a big conflict about the whole Buffy/Angel relationship.  Then there is the whole tortured vampire attitude that Edward in the Twilight saga has going.  This has been done in both Interview with the Vampire and Buffy the Vampire Slayer and both of them were executed far better than in Twilight.   

Maybe I am being too harsh on this whole “phenomenon”, after all I am basing my opinions on what I read so far, which is not much and I have not seen the movies but I will finish what I began.  I will read the whole saga and then watch the movies.  When I have done that, I will write another blog entry saying that I was right or wrong.

3 Comments

  1. No, I completely agree with you 100%. Being a teenage girl, I like twilight, but I think loads of other vampire books are better. The movies, in my opinion, are even worse. I don’t recommend them because the books are ok, but the movies are terrible!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

