Scissor Sister's "Night Work" Album Review

Album Artwork of "Night Work"

The Scissor Sisters are back with their third studio album, “Night Work”.  For “Night Work”, the Scissor Sisters teamed up with producer, Stuart Price, who is best known for producing many of Madonna’s albums, to recapture the magic of their debut album which was lacking on their second album, “Ta-Dah”.  The picture on the front of “Night Work” hints that the album is going to be a sexual musical romp. 

While I like all of the songs on “Night Work”, the tracks that I really love on this album are Fire With Fire, Any Which Way, Skin This Cat, and Invisible Light.  Fire With Fire, the first single off “Night Work”, is a departure from the Scissor Sisters usual style but it is a very catchy song.  Any Which Way has backing vocals with another gay icon, Kylie Minogue.  This song is very suggestive at first but when the Sisters’ vixen, Ana Matronic, speaks the bridge in her sultry voice, you know exactly what the song is about.  “You know, baby when I was taking my pantyhose out of their egg this evening, I thought: ‘I’m going to find that man that is the right shade of bottle tan.  A man that smells like cocoa butter and cash.’  Take me anyway you like it: in front of the fireplace, in front of your yacht, in front of my parents.  I don’t give a damn, baby.  Just take me, ” Ana coos.  

Skin This Cat is another track that Ms. Matronic’s sexy vocals are the right match. The final song on “Night Work”, Invisible Light, is, in my opinion, the best Scissor Sisters song yet.  The opening guitar riff that Del Maquis plays puts you in the mind of Pink Floyd.  Combined with Jake Shears’ vocals, this song has a Depeche Mode feel to it, but the best part of the song comes at the bridge, which is a spoken monologue by the one of the greatest British actors, Ian McKellen.  This album is a solid outing by the Scissor Sisters and I would definitely recommend “Night Work” if you love the Scissor Sisters.  I would also recommend it to those who love Pink Floyd, Depeche Mode, or Erasure.

Leave a Reply

