The Beatles: Influncing All Generations

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

Last night while at work I noticed a boy and his grandmother leaving the store with an interesting item in the cart, The Beatles Rockband for PS3.  Just as they were getting ready to leave, the grandmother realized that she needed to exchange the toothpaste they bought so she told her grandson to stay with the cart right near me at the door.  The boy starts talking to me and tells me that it was his birthday and his grandmother bought him the Beatles Rockband complete band set as a birthday present.  The boy couldn’t have been more than ten or eleven years old, so I ask if he liked the Beatles.  He tells me that he loves the Beatles.  Well the inquisitive person that I am, I ask him what is his favorite Beatles song.  He gets this contemplative look on his face that reminds me of what I do when people ask me what my favorite movie is.  As expected, his response to my question is that all their (the Beatles) songs are good that it is hard to pick just one.  Instantly I knew this boy was a soul who had appreciation for great music.  My next question to him is what is his favorite Beatles album.  He tells me “Love” the Cirque du Soleil show soundtrack.  Owning that same album, I knew that he had good taste because the songs on that album span the whole career of the Beatles.  I tell the boy that my favorite album is “Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” because of it being an album that tells a story from beginning to end.  He tells me that he also loves “Abbey Road” and one song he really loves is “Here Comes the Sun”.  By this time the grandmother comes back and the two go on their way.  As they are leaving, I tell the boy happy birthday and have fun playing his game.  Right before they are out the door, I hear the boy tell his grandmother, “That guy is cool.” 

It just goes to show you that two different generations can bond over great music like the Beatles.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

