The Billboard Music Awards: Why It Is Important For Me to Cover This Event

As most of you know by now I live in Las Vegas.  One of my hopes for living in Vegas is have better opportunities to cover pop culture related stories first hand, so when I found out that the Billboard Music Awards were taking place here in Vegas at the MGM Grande, I jumped at the chance that I would try to cover this event.  As luck would have it, there was a blurb on Billboard’s website for applying for media credentials.  Naturally I filled out the application and faxed it in before the deadline.  With the awards show in five days, I have not received word one way or the other.

The reason covering the Billboard Music Awards is so important to me is because it is a chance to do what I love to do.  I am a pop culture junkie, plain and simple, but even more than that,  I know deep down in my heart that I am meant to be a force in the pop culture world.  I know many things when it comes to music, television, movies, etc.  I just recently figured out the best way to put that talent to good use is to blog about it.  For me, it’s not fame or meeting someone famous that motivates me.  It is being able to talk about people who very talented and have made an impact on many lives.  Being able to cover the Billboard Music Awards, to me, means talking to these artists and witnessing first hand them being honored for what they do best, and it would make for a great story on my blog.

Leave a Reply

