Random Rantings About Pop Culture

Just wanted to get few things off my chest that I have found out about so far this week.  First of all, The Hangover 2 has pulled in over $200 million worldwide since it was released on Thursday paving the way for The Hangover 3.  Why do we need a third Hangover movie?!  I have not will not see the first two because I think it’s a waste of film.  From what I read about The Hangover 2 it is just about the same as the first movie. Yet it is number 1 at the box office.  The demographic that sees these movies must be the same as those who watch reality shows like Jackass. 

My next rant is about the news that broke yesterday about DC Comics, publisher of comics such as Superman and Batman, are relaunching 52 titles with issue #1.  After weeks of speculation about DC Comics possibly doing this, USA Today reported this story yesterday causing an uproar among die-hard fans of the publisher.  Co-publisher of DC Comics, Dan Didio, was quoted as saying, “We really want to inject new life in our characters and line.  This was a chance to start, not at the beginning, but at a point where our characters are younger and the stories are being told for today’s audience.”  That’s fine but what I do have a problem with is if they are going to restart long-running comics, Action Comics and Detective Comics, which will have 904 and 881 issues respectively come August before the relaunch.  Another problem I have with this relaunch is whether it will affect the marriage of Lois Lane and Clark Kent.  This is my biggest concern because ever since the wedding of Lois and Clark happened back in 1996, I have loved the fact that these two iconic characters were married.  I really hope the minds at DC Comics do not retcon the Lois and Clark marriage like Marvel Comics did with Peter Parker and Mary Jane Watson, which I think to this day was a big mistake.

Leave a Reply

