Why Prince is Irrelevant- An Editoral

Disclaimer: This article is my opinion only

Last Thursday in an interview with The Guardian, pop/ R & B singer Prince once again went on a tirade about how the internet has ruined music.  Prince went on further to say that he is not going to record another album because  “The industry changed,” he says. “We made money [online] before piracy was real crazy. Nobody’s making money now except phone companies, Apple and Google. I’m supposed to go to the White House to talk about copyright protection. It’s like the gold rush out there. Or a carjacking. There’s no boundaries. I’ve been in meetings and they’ll tell you, Prince, you don’t understand, it’s dog-eat-dog out there. So I’ll just hold off on recording.”

In my eyes, this is a good thing because, in my opinion, the last great album he put out was The Gold Experience in 1995.  Anything after that is trash that I will disregard.  Prince really became irrelevant after The Gold Experience because you never really heard any of his songs on the radio.  The only time I have heard a Prince song recently was when he performed on American Idol’s finale one year but aside from that, I would hear of him coming out with an album and that would be the last I hear of it.  I really don’t know how well his album, Lotusflow3r, sold but I do know that every time I go to Target I see a numerous amount of that CD on the shelf priced at $4.99 and people still won’t buy it.  Which brings me to the criticism of Prince making that album exclusive only to Target.  Now I know other artists do the whole exclusivity to one store and I do not agree with it but Prince wants to blame the internet for ruining music.  I’m sorry but the thing that has ruined music these days is that some artists like Prince sell out just to try to make more money for themself.   They make deals with certain retailers to make their album exclusive to that retailer, and what it really ends up doing is limit who has access to buy that album.  For example, I grew up in a small town in West Virginia, and the nearest Wal-mart is 20-30 minutes away and Target is about 1-2 hours away.  There are people that I know that still live in that area that would not travel 2 hours just to get a CD.

Among the many other things that Prince has said in his interview with the Guardian, the other thing I take issue with is his opinion on the hit Fox show, Glee, covering his song “Kiss”.  Prince is quoted: “There’s no other artform where you can do that. You can’t go and do your own version of Harry Potter. Do you want to hear somebody else sing Kiss?”  He sure had no problem with Tom Jones singing it or Sinead O’ Connor covering “Nothing Compares 2 U” or Chaka Kahn’s version of “I Feel For You”.  Better yet, Prince had no issue doing a cover of Radiohead’s “Creep” at Coachella in 2008 except when it came to fans posting it on You Tube. 

My response to Prince’s statement about not recording any new material is: WHO CARES?!?!  You’re not relevant anymore, Prince.  Please be kind enough to fade into obscurity until you put out hits like “Little Red Corvette” or “When Doves Cry” again.

Leave a Reply

