An Open Letter to Dan Didio, Co-Publisher of DC Comics

Dear Mr Didio:

Thank you for making it easier to cut back what comics I pay for.  Due to the decision of making Superman “accessible” to new audiences, you have alienated long-time followers of the Superman comics.  When I first heard about “The New 52”, I was skeptical about it but was still willing to give it a chance.  Now, thanks to your comments today on the direction of the new Superman comics, there will only be around two or three DC titles I will be reading starting in September.

How dare you take away years of continuity that some of us have been invested in!!  You are doing away with the marriage of Lois Lane and Clark Kent just so the new Superman stories will be new reader friendly?!  What about the readers that have followed Superman for years?  The biggest reason I started reading Superman was because of the engagement of Lois and Clark.  I bought two copies of Superman: The Wedding Album when it came out due to the fact I am a Lois and Clark fan.

In your quest to beat Marvel comics, you took the wrong idea from them.   When Joe Quesada announced that they were doing away with the Peter Parker/ Mary Jane Watson marriage years ago, I thought DC Comics would never do that when it came to Lois Lane and Clark Kent.  Was I ever wrong.  Instead of mimicking that from Marvel, what you should have done was create an alternative line like the Ultimate line Marvel has, and I thought that was the idea behind the All-Star line and the Earth One idea.  The thing about the Earth One direction was that you guys got greedy and made it a hardcover graphic novel.  It would have been better if it was a monthly comic.

In closing, I would like to say good job on alienating some of us loyal fans.  I, for one, will not be reading either Action Comics or Superman in September because it’s not Superman.  You may put him in a new suit and keep the trademark symbol that the Man of Steel has sported for over 70 years, but it’s not Superman, not the one I knew.  Many others feel the same way I do, and are angry over this decision.  As a further insult to us, you are not giving us a heartfelt farewell story like “Whatever Happened to the Man of Steel” like DC did for us back in the eighties.  So until you address the years of continuity that you are throwing away, I will no longer be reading any new solo adventures of Superman.

 

Sincerely,

Geraldo Bigstuff

2 Replies to “An Open Letter to Dan Didio, Co-Publisher of DC Comics”

  1. I’m sorry you can’t compare dealing deals with the Devil the same as just having a simple reboot. I mean just because they aren’t married anymore doesn’t mean they’re never gonna get together again. And whatever happen to the whole read first then decide.

    And really the marriage haven’t been the main focus in months. I mean Superman’s been losing readers pretty fast.The Grounded arc have been meh and the Reign of Doomsday have been boring. You should think of it as a new TV-show.

Leave a Reply

