Bands You Should Hear

As many of you who follow this blog know, I am very passionate about music.  I believe, to quote Dick Clark, “music is the soundtrack to our lives.”  For whatever mood you are in, there is a song for it.  I would like to share with you some of my favorite bands in no particular order.

My Morning Jacket:  I have been following My Morning Jacket ever since they did a song on the soundtrack to the movie, Elizabethtown.  The song is called “Where to Begin” and to hear Jim James, the lead singer of MMJ, sing is food for your ears.

Some notable songs by My Morning Jacket are:

“Wordless Chorus”

“Gideon”

“Touch Me I’m Going to Scream, Part 2”

and “Holding On to Black Metal”

Arcade Fire: Arcade Fire is another band that have a unique style to them.  The first song I heard by them is “We Used to Wait” off their latest album, The Suburbs.  After hearing this song, I went out and bought the album and I was not disappointed.

“We Used to Wait”

“Ready to Start”

“The Sprawl II: Mountains Beyond Mountains”

Foster the People: Last but certainly not least, another band that I have found to have an interesting sound is Foster the People.  While they are a newly formed band, they have already made an impression on the public.  Their first single, “Pumped Up Kicks”,  has been on the Billboard Hot 100 for 13 weeks and has peaked at #29.

“Pumped Up Kicks”

and “Helena Beat”

One Reply to “Bands You Should Hear”

Leave a Reply

