Max Brooks at the Clark County Library

About a year ago after reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I picked up The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks.  Immediately I found it to be an entertaining yet informative read.  Fast forward to November 3, 2011, I go to the Clark County Library  here in Las Vegas to see Max Brooks speaking about surviving a zombie apocalypse.  Seeing Max in person talking about fighting zombies was even more entertaining.  The guy is hilarious.  No wonder he was a writer for Saturday Night Live.  Considering who Max Brooks’ father is, director/ writer Mel Brooks, it is apparent to see that a great sense of humor is genetic.  One of the things I loved that Max Brooks talked about was choices of transportation during a zombie apocalypse.  He said that the only vehicle that would be useful during a zombie outbreak would a bicycle because if you run into police barricades or a car pileup, you could just carry the bike past those obstructions.  Plus, a bike is the only vehicle that runs on fear.  I took video of most of Max’s speech, which you can watch below.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

After speaking, Max autographed books for the crowd.  I got two books,  The Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z, signedHere are the pics that were taken during that brief encounter.

Max signing my books as I talk to him.

Max Signing my books

Max shaking my hand

In the pictures below are what Max signed in my books.

World War Z

"Gerald- The war is coming! Max Brooks"

The Zombie Survival Guide

"Gerald- Spread the word + save lives! Max Brooks"

I definitely enjoyed meeting Max Brooks and hearing him talk about zombies.  I am just starting to read World War Z and I love it already.  For those of you who are not aware, World War Z is going to be made into a movie with Brad Pitt producing and starring in the film.  The World War Z film is scheduled to be released on December 21, 2012.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

