DC Comics Has Ruined Superman (At Least For Me)

Over a year ago when the top brass at DC Comics announced that they were taking their comics in a new direction, it worried me.   Then when I heard that they were doing away with the marriage of Lois Lane and Clark Kent (Superman), I was outraged.  This led me to write an opinion piece expressing my displeasure with this retcon.  I even went as far as writing an open letter to the person in charge at DC, Dan Didio.  Despite my distaste for the new direction of the Superman comics, I gave the new titles a try.  My first instinct was correct: the new direction DC Comics took Superman in was not in any way the Superman that I loved to read so I stopped reading the two titles, SUPERMAN and ACTION COMICS.  I was still holding out hope that some editorial decisions would be eventually be made to at least have Lois Lane and Clark Kent start dating again.

Last week, a press release was released stating a romance between two heroes in the DC Comics universe was happening, and included was a picture of the said couple.

The Biggest Mistake DC Comics Can Make.

Upon seeing this picture, I grew frustrated at this creative decision.  Superman and Wonder Woman are not meant to be lovers!!!  Superman’s true love is Lois Lane.  Lois is what ties Superman to humanity.  As for the direction of Wonder Woman in the new DC Comics, it really does not make sense to me at all.  Instead of being formed from clay, Wonder Woman is now the daughter of the Greek God, Zeus.

Today, Geoff Johns’ interview with the Associated Press added insult to injury.  Johns was quoted about Lois Lane: “She’s still around, but the two have never dated, nor are they likely to.”  This really pisses me off!!  How can you just do away with one of the most well-known romances in fiction?  Needless to say, I am, for the forseeable future, boycotting the Superman comic books.  I can no longer stand the way the writers and editors have ruined all the characters in the Superman legend.

Leave a Reply

